Day 719 – My God

my-people

Utterly astounding! Listen for a minute to God speaking directly to you, “You shall be my people, and I will be your God.” God wouldn’t have it any other way. It doesn’t say, You can choose to be my people if you want…sort of up to you. And if I fancy you, I will act as your God.

“You shall be my people.” There are no caveats here about what you have to do, no hoops to jump through, no dotted line to sign on. Simple, “You shall be my people, and I will be your God.” God is declaring that you belong to God. Like it or not, God is going to be part of your life.

Amazing things happen when you believe and trust in these words. They become present tense. You are mine; I am yours, declares God. You are God’s delightful child. God is present for you. God desperately wants to be part of your life. Live knowing God’s love.

Dear God, Thank you for claiming me as your child, especially when I feel far from you. That’s when you are closest to me…Amen.

Visit us at facebook.com/immanuelnyc

