Day 712 – Comfort

comforted

“I’ve given up on God.” Maybe you can imagine feeling the same way sometime in your life. Things have gotten so bad, you have reached out to God in desperation for some relief, and you didn’t receive any…at least in a way that was satisfactory to you.
My mom was passed away last year from the vegetative state. There were absolutely no words of solace for myself, my dad and my sister.What sort of comfort is there in this type of a situation? Platitudes like, “She’s in a better place” or “God must have wanted her” don’t help; they actually fuel the fire of “I’ve given up on God.”

I appreciate the sincerity and anguish when someone says “I’ve given up on God.” It is a place to begin again, a place for a renewed relationship with God to take over, because God has not given up on you.

Dear Father, thank you for not giving up on me even when I push you away. Your love has always overridden my fear…Amen

